Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The celebration of fall continued for me this past weekend with a trip to Oak Glen, a collection of apple orchards off the 10 freeway near Yucaipa, Calif. I love going to Oak Glen and getting to experience a little bit of the actual season we are in: the colorful leaves falling from the trees, the chill in the air, the feel of family and tradition. The friendly people who work in the shops, restaurants and farms along Oak Glen Road always make me feel welcome; they seem happy to share their goods and expertise and promote such a beautiful place.

Of course I had my camera on hand to capture my favorite moments of the trip and have compiled the best ones to share with you. I hope you like apples…

oak-glen-bushels-of-apples

…like these from Mr. Law’s, open since 1931. I chose the a bushel of Granny Smith for a recipe I plan to make next week, as well as a bushel of the hard-to-find Arkansas Black. We then headed down the street to pick up apple cider from Law’s Cider Mill…

oak-glen-apple-ciderAfter a quick drive up the road, we found a pretty collection of fall leaves and red berries…

oak-glen-fall-leaves…and another apple farm, of course.

oak-glen-willowbrook-apple-farmOur final apple-related purchase of the day was probably the most important: apple pie a la mode.

oak-glen-apple-pieAnd everyone knows nothing goes better with apples than fudge. Oak Glen has some of the best.

oak-glen-fudgeAll in all, it was a wonderful Sunday getaway. I came home with lots of goodies … and this important message:

oak-glen-smile-have-an-apple

