Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m a California girl, born and raised. All I know about the birth of this country, I learned in history class … and on annual field trips to Knott’s Berry Farm’s Independence Hall.

A trip to Boston showed me how much history I missed growing up on the West Coast. From Faneuil Hall to the Back Bay to Union Oyster House, the city is full of authentic buildings and landmarks from times gone past. I was there for four days and barely had time to absorb it all.

Here are some highlights from my trip to one of the U.S.’s oldest cities:

  • union-oyster-house-clam-chowderEating delicious New England clam chowder at Union Oyster House, the oldest restaurant in the country. The eatery has hosted such famed faces as Daniel Webster and the Kennedys; King Louis Philippe of France once lived in exile on the second floor.
  • Seeing the sights with Boston Duck Tours, on a WWII-style amphibious vehicle that not only drives through the city but also takes a dip in the Charles River. I definitely recommend taking this tour on Day 1 as the guide points out so many places that can be explored during the rest of your stay.
  • fenway-parkCatching a Red Sox game at Fenway Park. This is where the real sports fans live, and it was exciting to be a part of it, if only for one night. I also loved the area around Fenway and the game-time excitement that spills out of every bar and storefront on Yawkey Way.
  • Taking the T. Public transportation will always fascinate me since I grew up relying on a car to get everywhere I needed to go. If I lived in Boston, the T would be the only mode of transportation I’d need, and that would be perfectly fine with me.
  • Enjoying creative cocktails, Boston cream pie and live jazz at the Prudential Center’s Top of the Hub restaurant lounge. The view is spectacular, and the classy ambiance made it an ideal way to spend a more easygoing Saturday night.
  • Drinking a Sam Adams at Beantown Pub while looking out the window at Granary Burying Ground, where the Founding Father is buried. Historic and also a little spooky? Yes, please!
  • mikes-pastries-canoliHaving Italian cannoli for dessert at Mike’s Pastry. This place gets packed, but the line moves quickly; make sure to have your order ready.
  • Spending a rainy Sunday in Cambridge, hiding out in Russell House Tavern in Harvard Square before braving the elements to see the university’s beautiful campus. America’s first university is still going strong; I felt smarter just walking through the campus’ arched entrance.

Needless to say, my trip was amazing. Yet there is still more I need and want to see (hockey games at TD Garden and Boston University are high on the list). The plan is to make a return trip soon but, for now, at least I can savor the photographs and memories.

