Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I received a crock-pot from my mom for Christmas last year. It was on my list, mainly because I like to cook, but I don’t always have the time or energy in the evenings to make something great for dinner. And let me tell you, this thing is amazing. It’s the best feeling to be able to mix the ingredients in the morning (or even the night before) and come home 9 hours later to a nice, hot meal.

One of my favorite things I’ve made with the crock-pot so far is a shredded buffalo chicken sandwich. Found through the wonderful Pinterest, I was drawn to the delicious-sounding name, and the minimal ingredients list. I may like to cook, but I’m no gourmet chef so the fewer steps I have to take the better.

pulled-buffalo-chicken-prepHere’s what you need:

  • 3 lbs frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts.
  • ¾ bottle Frank’s Wing Sauce
  • 1 oz packet Hidden Valley Ranch Dip seasoning
  • 2 tsp butter

To make:

  • Place the chicken breasts in the crock-pot and top with buffalo sauce and ranch seasoning.
  • Put lid on the crock-pot and cook on low for 7 to 9 hours, until the meat shreds easily.
  • Remove the chicken and shred using two forks.
  • Return the chicken to the pot of sauce, add butter and cook on low for another hour so the meat can soak up the sauce.

The shredded chicken can be enjoyed however you want, but my favorite is on a roll with a piece of pepper jack cheese. Yum!

pulled-buffalo-chicken-sandwich

