Tags

, , , , , ,

I love to travel. Leaving reality behind and setting off for an unfamiliar experience with new sights, foods, people and cultures is one of my all-time favorite things. Not my favorite: lugging heavy, over-packed bags or, on the other end of the spectrum, having too little resources to feel totally comfortable while away from home. One of the biggest challenges I’ve faced is finding beauty products that are travel-friendly and keep me looking and feeling my best. On a recent trip to the hot and humid streets of Chicago, these four products held strong, cementing their status as must-haves for future excursions.

Colorful Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Balm from Clinique

clinique-lip-balm

[Image from www.clinique.com]

Bright and refreshing, these lip gloss sticks make the perfect travel companion. Long flights always leave me looking and feeling a little dull, but I was ready for any adventure as soon as I stepped of the plane with a pick me up from these Clinique treats. The lip balm comes in 16 shades that can be worn as a subtle tint or layered to make lips pop—Super Strawberry is my favorite!

Aveeno® Positively Radiant® Tinted Moisturizer SPF 30

aveeno-tinted-moisturizer

[Image from www.aveeno.com]

In the summertime, when the weather is hot, hot, hot, I would much rather use a lightweight concealer that can withstand a little sweat than heavier creams and powders. This Aveeno tinted moisturizer not only gave me an even skin tone that stayed strong under pressure from the sun, but also provided SPF protection—a major plus, especially with my fair skin. This product stuck with me in the transition from day to night, with little to no reapplication necessary. Probably my favorite part is the moisturizer’s silky feeling; it goes on as a cream but transitions to a softer, power-like substance as it blends into my skin. No sticky, streaky mess here, just flawless and fabulous.

The Body Shop’s Moringa Body Butter

moringa-body-butter

[Image from www.thebodyshop-usa.com]

The Body Shop has some amazing products, but this body butter has to be my favorite. It melts right into my skin, leaving it feeling super soft and smooth throughout the day. And the smell is incredible! The not too strong, not too sweet white floral scent is light and refreshing. The packaging is what makes this product the most travel-friendly; with body butter’s airtight shell, there’s little risk of finding a suitcase full of lotion-covered clothes after a flight. The Body Shop even offers this beauty must-have in a travel size, perfect for weekend getaways.

Maybelline Volum’ Express the Colossal

maybelline-mascara

[Image from www.maybelline.com]

In the early 1900s, a New York chemist noticed his younger sister was using a mixture of Vaseline and coal dust to give her lashes a darker, fuller look. He bottled it up and sold it locally, naming the new product after his inspiration: Maybel, combining his sister’s name and Vaseline. A sucker for history, it’s this anecdote (from Wikipedia) that first drew me to Maybelline’s mascara products. The mascara’s high quality, however, is what keeps me coming back. My favorite of Maybelline’s mascara line is the Colossal in Classic Black. The company claims a collagen-enriched plumping formula gives lashes 9 times the volume and, while I can’t vouch for an exact number, when wearing the Colossal mascara, my eyes certainly pop. I’m partial to the washable formula, but this product also comes in waterproof, ideal for a day at the beach or pool.

